A Fresh Comic Page for the New Year

une page en tons de gris de la Route des honneurs

For 2014, here is this fresh comic page, scanned at 600 dpi, resized to 300 dpi, then retouched in greytones. It will be the first page of Honors Road,  a science fiction manga, from my  own Gardeners universe.  (It will be published in French and English). It is always a challenge for me drawing sea shore, especially  the foreground shallow water.

On the last day of the year, I set myself time to  draw comics. Allan Watts suggested to think about what would you like to do if money was no object. Drawing comics is my favourite activity. It helps me crating or re-creating  new worlds, and adding to the collective imaginarium.

And this is valid for all fields. Reading, sciences research, music, or even contemplating nature in silence feed our imagination.

Here are two artists-bloggers I discovered recently: Melanie Gillman, who make a good use of color pencils.  And I visit the Zen Pencils blog, by artist Gavin Aung Than. The artist draw cartoons from inspitrational quotes.

Jarre à biscuits de Melanie My good 2014 resolution : each month, I will choose a graphic artist website and give a small amount (5$, a large gourmet coffee)in his or her Cookie Jar.

Artists, musicians, writers, even the more popular among us, do not accumulate great riches. Bottom line-seeking companies, even the most successful, now frown upon  paying the artists and even steal their work when they can get away with it.

*

Image

Despite the freezing cold, I wish you all a new year filled with joy and creativity! 

One response to “A Fresh Comic Page for the New Year

Leave a Reply

