Splendours and Miseries of the Signing Table – The Fan who won’t Read SF

The Fan who won't read SF - Art by Michele Laframboise, with the kind help from Jeanne-A Debats.

.

This comic is very close to my heart because it concerns my favorite literary flavor ice cream, SF.

To write science-fiction, you have to be not only passionate, but you must also know how to explain the genre to your beloved audience! Most readers associate these words with all other things like (badly written) big movie blockbusters.

There has been intellectual snobbery of genre literature by the “white” litterature, an attitude which fortunately is beginning to fade.

At the end of this article, I put a sketch drawn in 2012 to capture the sense of wonder that came over me during my early discovery of science fiction. I would read late in my father’s library.

If you speak French, I recommend that you visit the blog of Jeanne-A. Debats, a writer who does not shy away from daring ideas! She propvided a few lines from the Paris Book fair which has just ended. When I was on site in 2008, I heard some, among those: “Oh, I do not read fiction because it is unreal! »

The “talking squids” allusion is a recent catchphrase in Canadian SF literature, born of a joke by Margaret Atwood, who wrote good SF anticipation and post-apocalyptic, but did not want at one time be associated with the genre. She finally came around and admit the writing, as she explores many genres.

A website had been put up by Vonda McIntyre, featuring a short-story by Stephen Baxter, Sheena 5, about, of course, squids in space.

Discovering science fiction in my father's bookshelves.

One response to “Splendours and Miseries of the Signing Table – The Fan who won’t Read SF

  1. j’adore Michèle, c’est ça 🙂 (that’s it^^)

    Like

Leave a Reply

